Urban Taco SA: Social Kick Off

*Disclaimer: I received a free cocktail and entrée in exchange for blog coverage, however, all opinions are my own.

Last Thursday night I was lucky enough to attend Urban Taco‘s Social Kick Off event with my friend Sarah of  “The Life of a Frye” and several other San Antonio bloggers. For those who have yet to try it and are wondering exactly what it is, Urban Taco opened its first location in 2007 with a menu inspired by Mexico City street food culture and the coastal cuisine flair of Acapulco. In other words, “yum”.

Sarah and I grabbed a table for two (how cute) and got ready to enjoy!

Sarah of "The Life of a Frye" and I enjoying our fun night out.

Sarah of “The Life of a Frye” and I enjoying our fun night out.

I ordered a Hibiscus Margarita to start. I typically don’t order margaritas since I’m not a huge Tequila fan, but this one was delicious. Very refreshing and light. Plus, it was a pretty red color.

Urban Taco Hibiscus Margarita

Hibiscus Margarita at Urban Taco.

We then were treated to a salsa trio. They have 13 different salsas to choose from, so Sarah and I each picked one and had our waitress choose the third. We narrowed it down to jalepeño zucchini, black bean and roasted corn, and jalepeño avocado.

Salsa Trio: jalepenño avocado, black bean and roasted corn, and jalepeño zucchini.

Salsa Trio (Back to Front): jalepenño avocado, black bean and roasted corn, and jalepeño zucchini.

My favorite was the black bean and roasted corn followed closely by the jalepeño avocado salsa. The more I think about it the more I want!

Then, our entrée came. Sarah order the 3-taco combination plate. You can choose any 3 tacos from their list of 12 plus sides when you order this plate. Let me tell you, here meal looked fantastic. The tacos were small so you didn’t feel too overwhelmed with your plate. It looked light and fresh- a perfect spring time dish.

3 tacos: ahi tuna, shrimp al pastor, & red snapper.

3 tacos: ahi tuna, shrimp al pastor, & red snapper.

I chose the De Veggie Quesadillas. The cool thing about these quesadillas was that they put cheese on the outside of it, too! Talk about queso overload (in the best way possible). The quesadillas had grilled artichoke, tomatoes, squash, Serrano peppers, and some other amazing veggies. I really enjoyed them! In fact, I had to stop myself from eating the whole meal so that I had enough to take home to enjoy later.

De Veggie Quesadillas at Urban Taco.

De Veggie Quesadillas at Urban Taco.

I had a wonderful time at the Social Kick Off and look forward to enjoying many future lunches and dinners at Urban Taco SA.

Urban Taco is located in The Quarry Village. Check out their website and Like/follow them on Facebook and Twitter for more information!

4 thoughts on “Urban Taco SA: Social Kick Off

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

