Nothing On But the Radio

Photo courtesy of http://www.stockphotopro.com

Good ol’ country music plays softly from my computer earphones as I type along on my computer.  The Eli Young Band serenades me with their hit “Always the Love Songs.” How appropriate, I think, since my topic consists of music and love.

When you have a significant other (hopefully) they bring you joy and happiness. You spend time together and develop a bond deeper and more meaningful than friendship. You share inside jokes and memories that others just don’t get.

I’ve heard of couples that even have “theme songs”, songs that sum up their relationship in less than four minutes. I’ve never had a “song” with someone, but I know of friends who have.

Good ol’ country music plays softly from my computer earphones as I type along on my computer.  The Eli Young Band serenades me with their hit “Always the Love Songs.” How appropriate, I think, since my topic consists of music and love.

When you have a significant other (hopefully) they bring you joy and happiness. You spend time together and develop a bond deeper and more meaningful than friendship. You share inside jokes and memories that others just don’t get.

I’ve heard of couples that even have “theme songs”, songs that sum up their relationship in less than four minutes. I’ve never had a “song” with someone, but I know of friends who have.

Truth be told, my parents have a song. It’s Van Morrison’s “Brown Eyed Girl.” Oddly enough my mother is not even brown-eyed but hazel-eyed. Oh, well. It’s the thought that counts, right parents?

I’ve caught myself listening to love songs and thinking that the lyrics make perfect sense in my relationship situation, but I’ve never thought of making that song our “official” anthem.

So, here’s the question that I pose to you: Do you think that having a couple’s song is romantic or downright ridiculous?

Also published at youplusdallas.com

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

