Hoarding: Friends Edition

Photo courtesy of facebookemoticons.biz

“______ has now accepted your friend request,” reads your pop-up. Ah, the satisfaction of adding another friend to your endless friends list. Your day has now gotten that much sweeter.

Since activating accounts on Facebook became as common as tying your shoes, reaching out to old friends, new friends and family members has never been easier. But how many people are actually friends with the 557 people on their friends list? Do we keep adding users because we feel accepted and appreciated when that one person decides that we are worthy of viewing their account?

Some argue that many of their “friends” are business connections, or are related to their work in some way. I guess I’ll accept that reason, but isn’t that what sites like LinkedIn are for?

The average Facebook user is said to have 120 friends.  I just checked my Facebook and found out I have 440 friends on my list, so I am writing this as somewhat of an intervention for my own behalf. I am admitting that I have a problem.

I’m guilty of adding people that I’ve only met once. I justify this by saying that I will probably run into them again. False. More than half of the people that I have added I haven’t talked to since. No wonder my news feed is bombarded by people updating statuses every 2 seconds. I elected to be updated on 440 peoples’ lives on a daily basis.

As of now, I have vowed to go through my friends list and delete those who I don’t talk to at least once a week. That includes my aunt’s neighbor’s child, my friend’s friend who lives in New York and all the other random acquaintances that get a sneak peek into my daily life every time I add something to my account.

Now, check how many friends you have on your list. Then go through and see how many you actually know or have had more than a five-minute conversation with.

Is it time to start de-friending?

Also published on youplusdallas.com

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

