Just Because I’m Italian

Photo courtesy of amazon.com

I’ve been asked quite a few times what my father does for a living. In fact, my father retired at the young age of 58, so I guess you can say he travels and golfs for a living now. But before he was able to kick up his heels for good he owned an insurance company with his brother and brother-in-law which our grandpa had originally started in the 70’s.

When people ask him what he does for a living he loves to joke around with them and say,”I was in the protection business.” Most people probably wouldn’t find this funny until they learned that, yes, my father’s family is from Sicily. As if my last name didn’t already give it away.

Let’s break this down. 1. My father says he was in the “protection business”. 2. My father’s family is from Sicily. What does that sound like to you? You guessed it! He’s referring to the mafia. You’d be surprised how many people have actually asked us if we were part of the mafia.

We would always answer, “If we tell ya, we gotta kill ya.” But, really, why would we blow our cover if we were? However, my family is NOT involved in any illegal activity performed by the mafioso.

Why do I feel the need to clear this up? I just started reading a book called The Last Godfathers which was given to me by my boyfriend’s grandfather (Thanks Mr. Lighty!). As I was reading a thought popped in my mind. All this stuff seems to be happening in the area around the town my father’s family came from. How could they not have been involved or in -the know about some of this stuff?

Photo courtesy of travelplan.it

I have been debating for the past ten minutes on whether or not I should go on Ancestry.com and start doing some investigating. Part of me doesn’t want to pay $12.95/per month to search all this info, but the other part of me secretly wants to be eligible to be cast in the commercials where I can give my testimonial about discovering that my ancestors actually were an intricate part of this secret society.

As weird as it may sound, it’d be pretty cool. Don’t act like you wouldn’t want your ancestors to have been apart of some crazy events in history! It’d be an awesome conversation starter.

But until then, I’ll just keep on responding with a very vague answer to the never-ending question, “So, is your family in the mafia?”. It makes things more interesting, don’t you think?

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

