Job Hunt Begins

Photo courtesy of betterjobadvice.com

I’m graduating in May and panic mode has officially set in. I’ve started my official job search, and so far, it’s not as easy as I thought. It took me all of two days to figure this out.

Everyone always says it’s not necessarily what you know, but who you know that gets you your first job. So, I’ve taken to my “rolodex”, a.k.a my email list, and informed past employers of my job hunt. So far, they’ve been very helpful in offering me recommendations to companies they have connections with, or giving me a heads up of openings they know of. I’m really grateful for their help, of course.

But, if you know me, you know that I start getting antsy about things the second I’m not in control them. So here I am, searching every day for job openings, anxious and nervous about life after college- the unknown, the real world, the thing that new graduates try to avoid a little longer by going to grad school.

My love has always been writing, and my skills of interacting with people is just an extension of my need to tell stories. Hopefully, I can find a job that incorporates both.

Wish me luck! It’s going to be a long ride (although I hope it’s not)!

 

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

