What Would We Do Without Air Conditioning?

Photo courtesy of how-sal-cs-it.blogspot.com

It was Saturday when sis and I discovered that it was abnormally hot in our condo. Our upstairs thermostat has always been rather sensitive so we figured that one of us had moved it slightly causing it to reach over 80 degrees. I turned the temperature down and walked back into my room to give it a few minutes for the air to cool down. It never did.

I went to check the thermostat again only to see that it hadn’t budged from 85 degrees. I moved it down a little more and waited. Still nothing. After about 30 minutes of waiting with no result, I came to the conclusion that our air conditioning had committed suicide.

Flash forward to Monday. It has been three whole days without air conditioning and our house is a sauna. I had called the emergency number for the on-call air conditioning service under our house warranty on Sunday morning, however, they told me that they would contact me on Monday to schedule an appointment. So much for an emergency on-call repairman.

The company called early Monday morning and gave me a time slot of 1 to 4 p.m. that one of their repairman would stop by. Three-fifteen we hear a knock on the door. The second I opened the door the guy points to the air conditioning unit outside our condo and says, “There’s your problem.” I look over and see a block of ice where the tube connects to the air conditioning unit. Damn.

Photo courtesy of clipartreview.com

The guy then proceeds to tell me that he will unplug the unit, but has to wait 6 to 8 hours for it to thaw out, meaning he’d have to come back tomorrow. So, yes. It took all of 2 seconds to diagnose the problem. Ugh! Not another day without air! It’s. Too. Hot!

It’s now Tuesday and I’m waiting for the guy to come back and hopefully fix our air today (cross your fingers). I’ve got my bedroom window open and my ceiling fan on full blast. It’s not helping. The company told me that the repairman would be here between 12 and 4 p.m. Meaning he probably won’t be here until 3:30p.m.

I’ve come to find that I’m dependent upon air conditioning, especially living in Texas where the weather could be 40 degrees in the morning and 85 degrees by noon. I find myself silently rejoicing (yet secretly jealous) when I walk into a building that has the AC on. I want mine back! How do people live without cool air blowing in their faces?!

Call me spoiled. Call me an over reactor. But try to sleep without air conditioning for just one night and see how you like it. Now imagine 4 nights.

Not fun.

I obviously complain when my AC goes out. What would you do?

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

