Spinning: The Butt Buster

Photo courtesy of healthandnutritiontips.net

Last year sis and I enrolled in a spinning class for our last Wellness credit for school. We had heard great things about spinning from others who said that it really did help them get into shape. Since we were looking to get into better shape for swimsuit season we thought it’d be a great idea to try it out. They said it was a great workout that burned a ton of calories in a short amount of time. In that case, sign me up! Cardio workouts are my exercise of choice. I really like to break a sweat when I work out and workouts like yoga or Pilates make me bored and tired, two things that exercise shouldn’t be associated with.

The first day of spinning I thought I was going to pass out. I didn’t realize that I wasn’t expected to go as hard as the instructor told us to if it was my first time. By the end of the class, I had to slide off my seat because my legs felt like jello. It took me twice as long to walk back to my apartment from the gym because I was completely warn out. What did I sign myself up for? Spinning, I thought, would be the death of me.

However, the semester went on and spinning became easier and easier. I began to see a huge improvement in my body, not only on the outside but on the inside, as well. My stamina improved, my muscles became more defined, and I shed a few pounds. I also gained a lot more confidence. I learned that I can push myself a lot harder than I actually thought I could when it comes to exercise, and that attitude has translated into other areas of my life, as well. It’s a great stress-relieving exercise. Listening to great music and busting your butt on the bike makes you feel like you’re totally in control of your life, regardless of whether or not that it really the case at the moment.

When the semester ended I tried to keep my exercise routine up, but summer got in the way. We decided to enroll in spinning again for our last semester. I love how spinning is technically a “required” class for me to go to because if I don’t go, I don’t pass. The incentive to make it to the gym every other day is a passing grade, therefore, the excuse of “Eh, I don’t really feel like going today. I’m too busy,” doesn’t really work since this class is already built into my schedule.

I’ve decided that after graduation I definitely want to keep up my “spinning body” by enrolling in a group class back home.

In the meantime, I hope to recruit as many people as possible to take up this “butt busting” exercise. If you’re a cardio addict who can’t stand low intensity workouts then spinning is for you. If you’re still not convinced to try out at least one class, here are some health benefits associated with spinning that might sway your thoughts.

  • Targeted muscle groups.

    It burns an enormous amount of calories in a short time period. A 30-minutes spin workout can burn up to 500 calories. (Of course, it may vary according to a person’s weight and height)

  • Heart and lung health. Spinning involves interval training where your heart rate varies throughout the workout which helps increase your endurance and burn more calories. Also, you learn to control your breathing throughout the workout, therefore your lung capacity increases which can help with coping with stress and anxiety off the bike.
  • It builds muscle. Since your legs are constantly moving throughout the 30 -50 minute workout, it doesn’t take long to notice a difference in muscle tone in the lower half of your body. I started noticing a difference in my legs within the first two weeks of spinning. They had definitely gotten toner and stronger.

What are some exercises that help you relieve stress?

For more information about what spinning can do for your health click here.

5 comments

  1. Great article! You’ve definitely been busting your butt in there and it shows 🙂

  2. I used to be addicted to spin but haven’t done it in like 3 or 4 years. You’ve inspired me to get back into it! I’m gonna go try a class this week…hopefully I’m fit enough to make it through 🙂

    1. Yay! Let me know how it goes. And remember, you don’t have to go all out if you don’t think you can. Trust me, I know. hahah have fun!

  3. kcasrkev1 · · Reply

    Samantha, my wife does this at least 3 times per week! I had no idea what she really was doing, and once I ask her, I would bet that she doesn’t know that they call it ‘spinning’. She not only does it for about 30 minutes, but she puts her favorite gospel music on and sings right along, the whole time ‘spinning’ away. If you really want to rev up your workout, try that on for size. Good work. I’m trying to come up with my own type of workout. Right now, all I do is my total gym workout twice a week, but at least it is something. You’ve definitely given me something else to think about.

    1. I HIGHLY recommend spinning. It’s funny because “spinning” is how I’ve always heard it referred as. Shockingly, there are only two men in my class. It’s a really intense workout so I’m suprised there aren’t more since I feel guys would really enjoy it, but a lot of men that I talk to prefer lifting weights instead. But remember, cardio can be done 7 days a week so it’s important to incorporate cardio into your daily routine whereas, with lifting weights, it’s important to alternate days so that your muscles can relax. Once again, thanks for stopping by!

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

