Ghosts and Spirits: Do You Believe?

Photo courtesy of appalachiantrail.com

I’m going to admit a pretty embarrassing thing about me. I’m a huge Ghost Adventures fan. Although sometimes this show makes me laugh for all the wrong reasons, I can’t stop watching it. It’s my guilty pleasure on Saturday mornings. (I record it on Friday nights).

This week the boys brought us a very touching episode about a young high school student who died in a car accident seven years ago. They visited the parents of the young girl who asked the team to help them connect with their deceased daughter. I couldn’t help but become choked up as I watched the deceased girl’s father explain what had happened the night of the car accident with soft tears rolling down his cheeks. It got me thinking: can deceased family members really contact their loved ones?

I’ve always been afraid of ghosts, goblins, monsters, aliens, really anything people can’t explain. The older I’ve gotten the less scared I have become and the more fascinated I get. I watch Celebrity Ghost Stories, Long Island Medium (on occasion), and Ghost Adventures because I feel like these stories are a little more genuine than those on other ghost hunting shows.

I’m still skeptical about ghosts, but the more I watch, the more I wonder how all of these people believe they’ve seen, heard, or felt some unexplained presence. Isn’t it a little strange that so many claim these experiences? They can’t all be delusional or crazy, can they?

I’ve never experienced anything, but I feel like now since I’m talking about it something is going to happen. I think if something did happen to me, I’d be totally freaked out. Regardless of how much I enjoy watching these shows, I am still a slight “scaredy cat” and I know that I’d be beyond frightened if I ever saw a figure standing over me at night or found unexplained scratches down my back. Who wouldn’t be?

As a Catholic, the church teaches that there is a difference between spirits and ghosts, which is news to me. By spirits they do

Photo courtesy of theoptimusprimeexperiment.com

not mean “human souls,” but rather angels or demonic entities disguised as humans. (I’m getting rather nervous typing this out because the things that scares me to no avail, and will probably scare me for the rest of my life, are demons and devil related things. I just can’t do that).  The term “ghost”  refers to the part of a human being that has been separated from the body through death (a.k.a soul), appear to people on earth.

I have read conflicting information about whether the church really does recognize “ghosts” as actually beings, and not just a vocabulary word. As I’m sure a lot of people know, the church believes that once you die your soul either goes to Heaven, Purgatory, or Hell. However, the Bible does mention scenes when “ghosts” appear to people on earth, therefore some people believe that Purgatory is being trapped on earth in ghost form. I have no comment on this.

If this sounds a little confusing it’s probably because it is. I was confused after reading all the research I found.

I’ve come to the conclusion that the one must make their own decision on whether they believe in ghosts or not. The church specifically forbids using wigi boards or any conjuring method to summon ghosts or spirits, but other than that, their stance on whether followers are allowed to believe in them or not is vague. You would think they are allowed to because of the fact that the church forbids using methods to communicate with them, however I’ve found it’s a little more complicated than that.

Do you believe in spirits and/or ghosts? If so, have you ever had any spiritual or ghostly encounters?

2 comments

  1. I absolutely do! I’m a paranormal investigator (though being a teacher is my real gig), and most recently I’ve been doing a lot of personal research and experimenting with EVP. In the last 5 years I’ve read an entire bookshelf full of books on paranormal/spiritual topics. And what is strange about that is, other than my small bank of what I feel is true paranormal evidence in my investigations, I never had that “knock you over the head paranormal experience” growing up that most people in the paranormal had. I’m openly skeptic about many of the techniques and evidence in the field, but at the same time I know without a doubt that life continues after death… and sometimes spirits linger on earth. I don’t NEED proof, but it’s sure fun and such a learning experience to look for it! 🙂

    1. Thanks so much for coming to the site and sharing! That’s really neat that you are a paranormal investigator. I, on the other had, would be totally freaked out if I were to ever investigate and something were to actually happen. I’ll leave all the evidence capturing up to you guys! Feel free to come back 🙂

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

