Sleep Better, Sleep Longer

Photo courtesy of open.salon.com

Ever since I started my freshman year in college, the amount of time I sleep has slowly declined. I blame it on stress and the fact that I have a million things floating around in my head by the time my noggin hits the pillow at night.

My body natural wakes up around 7:30 AM almost every single day. The alarm clock by my bed is more for decoration than actual use since I’m awake well before I actually need to be. Not only do I wake up early, but I also wake up at least 3 times a night. I have no trouble falling to sleep, however, staying sleep is the hard part. I toss and turn to get comfortable only to wake up an hour later to repeat the process. Sometimes I wake up more tired than when I actually went to bed.

I’m extremely frustrated and, well, tired of it! My idea of “sleeping in” is to stay in bed until 9:00 AM. I’m assuming this isn’t typical college student behavior.

Insomnia is the most common sleeping issue among women. In fact, “women are twice as likely as men to have difficulties falling asleep or staying asleep,” according to emedicinehealth.com.  Factors like hormonal changes, stress, lifestyle, and sleeping environment all take a toll on your sleeping patterns.

If you are like me and have trouble staying asleep, here are some things you can do to try and prevent the constant waking up throughout the night.

  • Exercise daily. Exercise makes you tired. Just make sure you don’t exercise a few hours before your bedtime because it might make it harder for you to fall asleep since your body is still energized from your workout.
  • Avoid caffeine and sweets before bed. As we all know, caffeine is an energy booster. Don’t drink or eat it before you go to bed because it can have the opposite affect on your body. Instead of winding it down, it will wind it up!

    Photo courtesy of poweredbyintuition.com

  • Avoid reading or watching TV in bed. This will be the hardest for me since I love reading before I go to bed. This is the only part of the day when I actually have time to sit down and read a book for leisure. However, reading and watching TV might keep your mind too busy which can prevent falling asleep within a reasonable amount of time or staying asleep.
  • Control your sleeping environment. Make sure your room is dark and cool before going to bed. Nothing is worse than waking up to bright sunlight in your face at 6 AM. Recently our air conditioning went out in our apartment. Temperatures at our place topped 86 degrees in the evenings. This made it absolutely impossible to stay asleep. I’d wake up tangled in sheets with beads of sweet dripping down my forehead. It made me appreciate how important a cool room is to falling asleep. I always keep my fan on high and the air temperature around 72 degrees. This way I can still snuggle up in my blankets, but I won’t get overheated.

Hopefully, these tips will help you achieve your ideal night’s sleep. If not, I don’t wanna hear it. Just kidding!

If you have any tips on how to fall asleep and stay asleep for the whole night please share! I’d love to hear them and try them out.

For more information about sleep disorders and to get  better night’s sleep check out Yahoo! Voices and WebMD.com.

5 comments

  1. kcasrkev1 · · Reply

    Hey Samantha, go check out this website, http://www.LouiseHay.com. If you aren’t acquainted with her works, this should help you, immensely. She has definitely helped me. Your life will change for the better, believe me.

    1. Thanks! I’ll check it out ASAP.

  2. Maybe it’s your mattress too? I know different types of mattresses affect my sleeping abilities.

    1. That’s true. I have a big crater in the middle of my mattress I tend to fall into every night.

      1. Haha, sounds like you may have found the culprit!

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

