My Summer Internship Begins

Photo courtesy of accessiblevans.com

My summer internship at the Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce began yesterday and I’m already pumped to be working there. My role as the communications intern consists of helping the VP of Images and Communications with organizing events the Chamber puts on, write press releases and news articles for the newsletters, maintain the social media pages, and help her with other administrative tasks within the committee.

I got my desk and computer set up today before I was able to attend a lovely event that the public affairs department help put on called Conversation with the Governor. Governor Rick Perry and radio personality Joe ‘Pags’ Pagliarulo sat down for a 30 minute discussion about Texas and it’s growing economy despite the national economic crisis. I was worried about how Governor Perry was going to be in person after seeing all the blunders he made during his short presidential campaign last fall. However, I thought he did an excellent job today. He was very personable and seemed extremely comfortable in front of an audience. He also talked highly of the Texas economy and boasted about how well our state has done compared to the other 49. No slip ups this time, Governor. Success!

Although I really enjoy my internship so far, one bad thing about it is the commute. Without traffic it takes about 25 – 30 minutes to get to the office Downtown. Unfortunately, I left the office today during prime traffic hours and didn’t get home until an hour later. I didn’t know it was possible to get a headache from seeing too many brake lights until this afternoon. Now I can see why everyone is so exhausted by the time they get home from work. If the actual job doesn’t make you tired, the drive home certainly will.

The other bad thing? It’s unpaid. Hopefully, the connections that I make while working here will lead to a future job soon. A girl needs to make a living! Can I get an “Amen”?!

Look out for more updates on my adventures with the Chamber.

Happy Tuesday!

7 comments

  1. Yes, I’ve been in Texas in the summer, was married to a man from Austin. Hot, hot, more hot, and then some serious humid thrown in for good measure.

  2. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Please check it out at http://susartandfood.wordpress.com/2012/06/07/versatile-blogger-award-5/ if you’re interested in participating. Enjoy your blog and hope you will!!

    1. Wow, what a compliment! Thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoy reading my blog. It’s the best thing to hear.

  3. Anonymous · · Reply

    You do such a good job!

    1. Why thank you! Thanks for reading 🙂

  4. I have traveled all over but have never made it to San Antonio. Definitely on my bucket list. I’m sure you’ll have a great experience.

    1. Come visit! It’s a need-to-see place. It’s beautiful here, but hot in the summer so you might want to take that into consideration.

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

