Call Me Never

I thought it was catchy at first, but now it’s just plain annoying. I find myself singing it in the shower, while I play tennis, before I go to bed. It’s wrong.

The new hit song “Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepsen has been blowing up the music charts these past couple of months thanks to the YouTube music video that Justin Bieber and his celebrity friends created for it.

The lyrics were cute, the beat was catchy…. for all of the first 30 times I heard it on the radio. Now this song is EVERYWHERE! It’s in commercials, TV shows and even national newscasts as they transition into different segments. I hear it at least 5 times a day which, in my opinion, is 5 times too many.

I enjoy music. I really do. But I don’t enjoy how radio stations take a perfectly wonderful song, like Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep”, and make it the most annoying sound I’ve ever heard coming out of my speakers. Just because it is a hit, doesn’t mean I need to hear it every day for the rest of 2012.

Does anyone else feel like this?

2 comments

  1. I think this song has been annoying since day 1

    1. hahah it had its moments

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

