Girls’ Night Out: Painting With a Twist

This weekend BF came in town, which made me really happy of course. However, my sisters, mom and I had already scheduled a girls’ night out with some of our close friends before he scheduled to come in. Seeing as a date with the girls can never been broken for a man, I kept my original plans to hang with them.

So, whether he liked it or not, BF was forced to spend Saturday night hanging out with my dad and brother-in-law while my two sisters, mom, and three friends went out. (No worries, he survived to see another day).

My sister had heard about this new activity called ‘Painting With a Twist’. It’s become all the rage in Dallas and San Antonio (and I’m sure other places) therefore we had to give it a go. The idea is to learn how to paint a picture, either of your choice or whatever is scheduled by the instructors for that night, while drinking wine and having fun.

Saturday night we painted Monet’s ‘Water Lilies’. This was obviously not our choice since this painting has so many layers involved in it, but it was either this or a complicated ‘Tuscan villa’ scene.

This is what the original ‘Water Lilies’ looks like.

Photo courtesy of en.wikipedia.org

After three hours of drinking, laughing, and criticizing each other’s work, this is what I was able to produce.

Yay me! I have to admit that I am very proud of myself for making a painting that somewhat resembles what I was trying to copy. Trust me, mine was better than a lot of other people’s although my water lilies resemble UFO’s rather than delicate floating flowers.

I can now consider myself a painter… sort of. I had such a great time painting with the girls. I’m always looking for new activities to do other than dinner and a movie, and I definitely recommend this one. If anything else, it’s a great bonding activity where everyone bonds over the fact that their paintings look nothing like the originals.

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

