First Week is Complete!

Photo courtesy of vimeo.com

Today marks the official end of my first week as a production assistant/ intern for Great Day SA. What a CRAZY, BUSY first week it’s been. Wow! However, I can’t complain because being busy makes the day go by faster. Also, being busy shows that they actually need my help which is always a nice feeling. We taped 6 shows this week and all went off with little to no hitches, although I did get called out in front of everyone a couple of times for mic-ing a few guests incorrectly. Hey, I’m learning. 

I’m catching on to my schedule pretty quickly and each day I complete my tasks a bit faster thanks to my growing familiarity with them. Some of my duties include running the teleprompter for the on-air talents, uploading segments of the show on to the website, running errands and arranging and organizing the studio. I think a lot of people watch live TV broadcasts, but definitely don’t realize all that is going on behind the scenes to make what they are watching even happen! Trust me, not everything goes according to plan.

This week certainly was educational, yet a lot of fun. The only bad thing about it is that I have to be there by 7:30 am. Sigh…the TV life.

I can’t wait to see how next week goes. Check out the Great Day SA website to see what all I’m a part of.

Are you guys excited for the weekend?

3 comments

  1. I also love the new blog name, ‘Green Eggs and Sam’. That’s clever.

  2. Keep up the good work, Sam. You sound excited, and, you’re having fun. That’s what real work is supposed to be all about. Sorry about the early start, though. You could be starting at 6 am like me. LOL

    1. Ya. All through college I had to get up at 5 am to get to a crew call at 6 am for our college morning show. I’m use to getting up early, but it still isn’t fun. Thanks for liking the new name! I had a friend suggest it haha I can’t take too much credit for it.

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

