Where Would You Go?

Photo courtesy of bero0q8.com

If you had a decade that you could re-live, which one would it be? I asked my Dad that question the other night and he responded by saying the ’60s.

“We had a blast,” he said.

Although I have only lived through 2 decades, I feel like the late ’50s would have been an awesome time to grow up in. I not only say this because I love the style of the late 1950’s/ early 1960’s, but I also feel like life was a little slower paced then. Kids played outside, money wasn’t so much of an issue and TV shows were actually scripted sitcoms, not “reality TV” (which I know are still scripted!). People actually dressed up when they went out in public. Going out to dinner and the movies was an event, not just a hang out for sketchy middle school kids. 

Don’t get me wrong. I enjoyed growing up in the ’90s, and look at all the amazing things that have come out of the 2000s! But, it’d be nice to slow it down for a bit. It’d be nice to have America’s obesity rate below 10% again. It’d be nice to actually have a plot line in a TV show or movie instead of a bunch of blood and sex. It’d be nice to only pay $5 tops for a meal out.

I sound like an old person, don’t I? I’ve always been told that I’m very mature for my age…

Which decade would you choose?

2 comments

  1. Hi Samantha: Thanks for the thought-provoking text. Actually, if I could go back in time, I think I’d choose the early years of the 20th century. I would be a flapper and go to speakeasys and wear short white tiered dresses with fringe. I’d dance the Charleston. It must have been a fascinating tiume to live in.

    1. That’s funny you say that because I feel like that would be my next choice. I think that was a time that a lot of women kind of came into their own and really decided to let loose! Imagine how scandalous a time that was! Like always, thanks so much for the comment.

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

