“Slow Down” Saturdays

Photo courtesy of michelinewalker.com

There is nothing better than sleeping in on a Saturday. Unfortunately, my “sleeping in” is waking up at 7 AM. It’s beats waking up at 6 AM on weekdays, though.

I’m a routine gal and it definitely shows when the weekends roll around. I love weekend mornings because I actually have time to make myself a legit breakfast, complete chores that I have put off throughout the week and blog.

Curious about my weekend meal concoction? Egg omelette with ham, spinach and Portobello mushrooms complete with a side of Greek yogurt topped with blueberries and a nice big cup of coffee. Doesn’t that sound fabulous? I’m already in a great mood just because of my meal! I should have taken a photo because my I was very proud of how it turned out-perfectly folded and fluffy – but I was too hungry :/ My bad…

I don’t know about y’all, but I tend to be super productive in the mornings, hence why I refer to myself as a “morning person”. I cleaned the kitchen, put water in the pool, took care of all the cat’s needs (because I am her slave…so she thinks) and now I’m here blogging for you all and it’s only 8:45 AM!  This calls for a pat on the back.

When I walked outside to put water in the pool, I was pleasantly surprised at how cool it was. The weather is starting to change and I’m beyond excited. It’s 77 degrees this morning with clouds and a cool breeze, although I already see the sun trying to make its début for the day. Yes, temperatures in the 70s are actually cool for me. I’ve been known to wear jackets outside if temperatures drop to 74 degrees. The Texas heat is hard to handle for a week let alone three months!

Don’t judge me.

What’s your favorite thing about Saturdays?

2 comments

  1. Hi Sam: I have the luxury of fixing cappucino every morning, sitting on the porch while my boxer checks out the landscape. I try to plan my day but real life take over and my to-do list grows longer with tasks postponed. Your omelette sounds wonderful, and the yogurt too, but how does a little thing like you eat all that. Maybe a one-egg omelette?

    1. That sounds so peaceful. I love LOVE sitting on balconies and/or porches in the morning with a cup of ‘joe’. It’s so peaceful. As for the massive breakfast, I may be small, but I have the stomach of a 300 pound man! haha I do, however, try to stick to portion sizes. My omelette is made with 1 egg white and 1 real egg. I only used 1 slice of ham and a handful of mushrooms and spinach. I scoop out just 1/2 cup of the yogurt and put about 1 1/2 tablespoons of blueberries on top. It’s pretty filling Thanks for the comment!

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

