A Split-Second Decision

It was Labor Day and I decided that before my family came over for a little pool and food action I’d go get a quick manicure. I had $15 left on a gift card that I was itching to use up. (Have I mentioned that I’ve just been dying to spend money lately? I’m having one of these weeks again.)

To get on the highway after exiting my neighborhood you have to pass under the bridge and take a left down a one-way access road for about two miles until you get to the entrance ramp. I have literally driven down this access road a BAJILLION times so at this point the turns and stops have almost become muscle memory. I know that’s bad to say that my driving is muscle memory now, but don’t act like you don’t somehow find yourself automatically home after a long day of work!

As I turned left down the one-way road I noticed something unusual. As I glanced again, I realized that something was terribly wrong. They were headlights! In my lane! Coming right at me going at least 50 miles per hour. At first it didn’t click that this person was driving down the street the wrong way, but it only took my little brain seconds to realize that this person, was indeed, driving down the one-way street THE WRONG WAY! I quickly glanced in my side mirror as the space between the wrong-way car and I began to close. Thankfully, no one was to the right of me, and I quickly was able to switch lanes. As the wrong-way driver passed my car I began to honk my horn to warn them of their serious driving error.

As I continued on, I glanced back in my rearview mirror and saw that the driver had abruptly pulled off the side of the road, obviously realizing their mistake. They then proceeded to three-point turn in the road (because that’s safe) and continue back the way they came, this time going the proper direction.

It’s crazy how quickly your mind and body are able to recognize the abnormal. Thankfully, I had plenty of time to react to the situation before anything bad could come of it. I know that many others haven’t been so lucky. I’d like to think that my honking spurred the driver into realizing they were going the wrong way. I’d like to think that I helped prevent a serious accident with two toots of my car horn.

*Pat on the back for Sam*

How’d you spend your Labor Day?

2 comments

  1. kcasrkev1 · · Reply

    Glad that you are safe, my friend. If you’ve driven long enough, sooner or later you will encounter this scenario. We have plenty of one-ways up here, and I see it ALL the time, especially on the weekends, or on Mondays, right afterwards. It’s right off of the downtown area, so partiers are leaving the clubs, and they don’t really know exactly what the roads are like around here. You have to keep your head on a swivel. I ALWAYS look the other way when I come to the one-ways, just to make sure no one is headed in the wrong direction. It’s scary when it happens, but, it does happen. Glad that you had the sense to make a heady decision, quickly. Be safe.

    1. Ya it’s crazy. At first I was shocked that I didn’t realize that it was actually happening until a few seconds later! Crazy stuff!

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

