My Favorite Reads: October Edition

I have had absolutely zero amount of time to read lately since all I’ve done is go, go, go. People always told me to enjoy my downtime in college because it will be a while before I ever get a chance to do nothing during the afternoons. I always thought they were just saying that because, well, older folks always say stuff like that. However, now I get why they say the things they do… it’s because most of the time they are right. Darn it. I hate it when that happens.

Currently reading: Theodora of Constantinople

Here are the books I recommend for this month!

  1. Beneath the Marble Sky by John Shors. I finally was able to finish this book over my weekend trip to Vegas. I have a love/hate relationship with books whose love stories never seem to go the way I planned. This book was an example of that. Beneath the Marble Sky tells the story behind the building of the Taj Mahal and all those who worked in and around the majestic structure. It’s a story of love, hate, family and feuds. Highly recommended by yours truly.

    Photo courtesy of tower.com

  2. Those Who Save Us by Jenna Blum. It’s been a while since I read this novel, but it’s definitely held a place in my mind ever since. This is what I call a “flashback novel” since half of it takes place in the present while the other half takes place during World War 2. Trudy, a professor of German history, knows that her mother has a secret she’s been keeping about their life back in Germany when Trudy was a small child. With her mother unwilling to share their story, all Trudy has is an old family photograph of her mother, a Nazi soldier, and herself. Curious to know her background, Trudy begins to investigate her mother’s journey through World War 2 and how she came to be.
  3. A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers. I didn’t realize this book was a Christian novel, but I figured it out as I began to read. It was especially obvious at the end of the book. Not that that’s a bad thing. I still greatly enjoyed reading it. It had a good message and a good plot line. You follow a girl named Hadassah during her life as a slave in Rome during the first century. Warning: another love story that makes you extremely frustrated, yet you can’t help but keep reading.

I want to hear your suggestions! I’m in need of a new book.

For more book suggestions visit My Favorite Reads: June, July, August & September Editions.

4 comments

  1. […] more book suggestions visit my other posts. My Favorite Reads: June, July, August, September, October & […]

  2. […] visit my other “My Favorite Reads” posts from June, July, August, September & October for more great […]

  3. Hi Samantha: I’ve been hunkered down, trying to write, but I’m lured to your blog because I always find somethiung for my TBR list which I DO NOT need. Beneath the Marble Sky was recommended to me earlier, but I hadn’t heard of Those Who Save Us, which sounds like a really good read.
    I just finished Ann Perry’s Dorchester Terrace, and want to read her newest, Sheen on the Silk. Truthfully, it’s the title that beckons me. I’ll let you know after I read it, although you may have reviewed it earlierl
    You might like “The Paris Wife”, about Hemingway’s first wife. Thanks for keeping one step ahead of this historical fiction reader.

    1. I’ll definitely have to add Dorchester Terrace to my list. Im currently reading your second e-book, Theodora of Constantinople! Loving it so far 🙂 Hope the writing is coming along well. Thanks for reading.

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

