My Favorite Reads: November Edition

It’s the season to curl up with some hot cocoa and a great novel. Am I right? Who cares if it’s still 76 degrees outside? Chocolate works in any kind of weather.

I’m still reading Theodora of Constantinople by Elizabeth Elson (shout-out!). I wish I had more time to sit down and read it! I’ve stolen a few minutes right before bed to get further in the book, but my eyes end up getting real heavy about 10 minutes in. I get sleepy from my busy day, not because of the book! Just want to make that clear. Tune in for December’s “My Favorite Reads” for the review.

  1. The Diplomat’s Wife by Pam Jenoff. Back in September I recommended a book called The Kommandant’s Girl. Well The Diplomat’s Wife comes from the same author meaning there are a lot of twists and turns to the story. I really enjoyed it, though. It was depressing at times, but exciting at others. After the Nazi’s are defeated, Marta finds herself falling in love with an American soldier, however, right when things start looking up for her, an accident happens leaving Marta alone and heartbroken. This book follows her through the years after the tragic event that changed her life forever.

    Photo courtesy of kobobooks.com

  2. Transgressions by Sarah Dunant. If you are looking for a book that makes you go, “what the heck?” then this book is for you. If you’ve kept up with “My Favorite Reads” series, then you know that I’ve enjoyed a few of Dunant’s works, such as, The Birth of Venus. However, this book is completely different from her others as she mixes terror with an outrageous plot line. Elizabeth, the main character, notices strange things happening in her home. Objects go missing, doors mysteriously become unlocked, noises all of a sudden sound from above. Check out this book to learn exactly what she finds!
  3. The Kite Runner by Khaled Rossini. Recommended to me by a close friend, this book really opened my eyes to a whole new part of the world. It’s a touching story about father and son, heartbreak, love and friendship. Two unlikely people become the best of friends in circumstances that many of us will, hopefully, never find ourselves in. This book takes place in Afghanistan. A little fun fact for you all, this book is the first Afghan book to be written in English, according to Amazon.com. Neat-o.

Like always, visit my other “My Favorite Reads” posts from JuneJuly, August, September & October for more great reads.

Get to reading, my friends.

2 comments

  1. […] *For more book suggestions visit my other posts. My Favorite Reads: June, July, August, September, October & November*  […]

  2. Samantha: We’ve had some nice cold weather in Florida, which makes me want to stay inside and write. Come to think of it, I read more during the summer, especially at night. I have read Dunant before, but never this one. More for my TBR pile (sigh).

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

