Loony Luna

LIttle Luna pooped after a long day of training.

Little Luna is pooped after a long day of training.

It’s been exactly two weeks since the waddling fluff ball entered my life, and, let me tell you, it’s been a whirlwind. I pretty much have a child for two reasons: 1) I can do bicep curls with her since she weighs the same as a newborn- 8 pounds, and 2) Luna hasn’t been trained in any way shape or form. To say time is of the essence when it comes to potty training is an understatement. I always have to keep my eye on her to make sure she doesn’t decide to decorate my parents’ rugs or carpet with any colors relating to brown or yellow. Ick…

Other than basic accident prevention, Luna still needs to learn her name and how to sit, stay and come. Multiple times I’ve lost Luna in the bushes that line the fence in our backyard separating the wilderness from our house. She tends to like exploring places humans can’t seem to fit in to. She already likes to give mommy a heart attack. It sure would come in handy if Luna knew her name to call her out of those areas.

Despite the occasional accident, puppy tantrum, and teething, Luna has captured the hearts of everyone she’s met so far. How can you not love this adorable sausage body and dumpling legs?

She likes to curl up in a ball when she sleeps. Too cute.

She likes to curl up in a ball when she sleeps. Too cute.

Really….. she’s precious.

Can you tell I was happy to get her?

Can you tell I was happy to get her? Can you tell how happy she was to see me…?

If only she had all her booster shots…. she’d be in training tomorrow morning and at the dog park with her pup friends in the afternoon.

*P.S. If anyone has any effective puppy training tips, I’d love to hear them! I’m always trying to find the best way to teach her new things!

2 comments

  1. Anonymous · · Reply

    Positive reinforcement. Take treats outside with you. And immediately after she goes to the bathroom outside give her a treat. Dogs have short attention spans so if you wait to get back inside to give them a treat then they will not associate it with going to the bathroom outside. And clap andnmake loud noises when you catch her going inside the house. They don’t like that. Can’t wait to meet her. She looks precious. And as far as training commands goes, repeat, repeat, repeat. She’ll learn 🙂

    1. Thanks so much for the tip 🙂 I’m gonna start doing that.

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

