Response to the Sandy Hook Elementary School Shooting

When I first got the news alert on my iPhone I didn’t think much of it. Another shooting… seems like it happens more often than not lately. Sad, but true.

As I turned on the news station in my car driving home yesterday, I began to realize the magnitude of what had happened that morning. To realize that one man can take the lives of 20 small children,  innocently learning in a classroom, along with 7 adults and himself, it angers me.

It’s horrific, yet I can’t seem to turn the channel. I’ve watched the news since yesterday afternoon and it doesn’t seem to get old.

I’m sickened. I’m angry. I’m utterly sad to hear of this tragedy. What little faith I have in human nature at times like these. Whether it really was a mental disorder this young man had or just pure evil in his heart, the hope of ever living in a peaceful place is fading quickly.

This little Connecticut town seemed like the quintessential all-American place. Small, quiet, community-oriented. It seems like no place is safe anymore.

I was only 11 on the morning of September 11, 2001, sitting in a classroom much like these 20 children were doing yesterday morning. My world changed along with the entire United States’ seconds after those attacks took place. I was around the age of some of these children who attend this elementary school. Although I was thousands of miles away from New York City, much like them (I’m assuming), the reality of what had just taken place didn’t register in my mind. I was more concerned about who I would play against in tether ball at recess in a few hours, not the families who lost loved ones in those towers and airplanes.

It took a few years for me to realize exactly how September 11 affected me and the world. I think of the children who survived this ordeal and wonder what the next five years hold for them.

But time goes on. The world still turns. The sun still rises to bring a new day.

3 comments

  1. Samantha: Your feelings were much like mine. I guess, because I have kids of my own, I couldn’t stop thinking about the parents and how on earth they could live with such a burden, knowing how their child had died. That is such an innocent age, all set to start learning about our big world. I cried a couple nights just thinking of them. Also, the father of the killer must be traumatized, knowing his son did something so horrific. Trouble is, there are mad people in the world and sometimes it doesn’t show until it’s too late.

  2. Anonymous · · Reply

    Samantha: I can’t even imagine what the parents are going through. It’s bad enough when a child is in an accident that takes their life, or has a diesease that’s terminal, but this is so senseless. What evil lurks in the hearts of men. It makes you wonder about video games and such that young men gravitate to. Is society overlooking something that needs a second look?

    1. Good point. However, I think there might be a correlation between video games and mass shootings, but not quite convinced there is causation. There has to be other serious factors to cause this outrageous behavior. Regardless, there really is no excuse. It’s just so sad.

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

