Little Luna Gets Her Diploma

Last Sunday Luna completed her puppy classes. After 6 weeks of training and practicing, Luna passed her puppy test and received her diploma. Yes, she got a diploma.

photo

To be honest, I wasn’t worried about Luna passing her test because Luna does anything for a treat, and she knew she’d be getting them if she followed along. Unfortunately, we are still working on how to “leave” things on the floor like pillows, furniture, random food droppings. She failed that part of the test, but I expected that. She was the only dog that actually got a piece of the “forbidden food” during the test but, I take partial blame since I couldn’t tell she had gotten it until after it was in her mouth. 

Overall, Luna has come a LONG way from when we first brought her home. She’s 95% potty trained, which makes me feel like a proud mom since I was the main trainer of that. I say 95% because I don’t want to jinx it. She gets along fabulously with other dogs, and a trip to the dog park has become a regular occurrence. She doesn’t attack or play rough nearly as much as she use to because she knows that I will stop playing with her immediately if she starts to get nippy.

IMG_1783

IMG_1781

Luna truly is a joy to have. She sleeps with her head on the pillow next to me at night. In fact, last night I woke up and she had her head in the crook of my neck, sawing logs. How could you not fall in love instantly?

I’ve never understood how people could get so obsessed with their dogs to the point of taking them everywhere, but now I understand 100%. Luna is like my child, and like one of those annoying parents, I take way to many pictures of her, I talk about her achievements way to much, and I’m way to concerned about her getting hurt or eating something nasty when she’s outside.

Can you imagine how I’m going to be like when I actually do have kids?! Oh geez…

IMG_1799

Luna hoarding sticks. She’d find them and hide them behind our bench.

2 comments

  1. She is so adorable in that hat! I know exactly what you mean with the hovering parent thing. I am so very over protective… I cry when my parents or Joe’s parents have to puppy sit… we have a sheet ‘o instructions for puppysitting. I lose sleep sometimes thinking he’ll break off the leash, burn in a fire, run away if the house is broken into, slip out the door, etc. I’m a mess, and I drive Joe nuts. So yes… We will not be having children. 🙂 I love the Luna updates.

    1. Thanks, Patrick! I think my blog topic is slowly shifting to Luna-only posts! I didn’t realize how much I write about her :/ I’ve been pressed by several people to write a children’s book about Luna’s adventures. I just might…. BF gets so annoyed with me because every time we leave Luna I always say, “I hope Loony is OK…” He always responds, “She’s fine, Sam.” Ugh! They just don’t understand! Thanks for reading

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

