San Antonio Zoo-tennial Birthday

Last night I attended the San Antonio Zoo‘s Member’s Only Zootenial Birthday Party with my two sisters, brother-in-law, and my adorable 1-year-old nephew. I haven’t been to the zoo since I was in middle school so I jumped at the chance when my sister invited me.

I apologize for the complete lack of photos, but by the time we got into the zoo, I was dying of thirst and completely overwhelmed by the hoards of little children scurrying around. Let me explain…

We arrived at 5:40 p.m. although the park did not open for the event until 6:00 p.m. Apparently every other zoo member had the same idea because the two lines for the entrances wrapped around the park. Not only did we have to stand in line for a while, but we were directly in the brutal sun’s path. In other words, we were standing outside in the 92 degree weather for a solid amount of time. Next thing we see, dozens of people are cutting in line trying to push their way through to the entrance. Oh heck no!

Because of the disorganized entrance process, we didn’t make it into the park until 6:15 p.m. Then, everyone headed to Zootennial Plaza for all the main activities like the carousel ride, meet-and-greet with certain animals, and food and drink.

Channeling my inner-lioness.

Channeling my inner-lioness.

Picture the HUNDREDS of people who were just waiting in the lines outside crammed into this little plaza. It was a hot mess… literally. We decided to bypass the ‘fun events’ in the plaza and head out to explore the Africa exhibit. On our way out, we did manage to stop and see this neat fellow.

He’s an eagle from Africa. I would say African eagle, but that’s not the correct name. To be honest, I forgot what type he is and his name, but I do remember that he is 42 years old! Oh, and he has a cataract in his right eye.

I think his name is Captain Jack....

I think his name is Captain Jack….

All and all, I did have a nice time once we managed to leave the crowd. The animals were beautiful, and it’s always so neat to see them up close. I’d definitely go back to the zoo, but when the gates are continuously open and food and drink aren’t limited to one or two concessions.

Happy 100th Birthday San Antonio Zoo!

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

