Monday Makings: Orzo with Shrimp and Peas

IMG_0198Welcome to a brand new month AND my second brand new weekly segment: Monday Makings. Each Monday I’ll be posting my attempts at making something whether it be recipes, DIY projects, or a difference in someone’s day.

This past week I decided to make an orzo pasta dish. It was quick, easy, and inexpensive. I hadn’t been to the grocery store in a while and had hardly any food left in my fridge. So, when I was over at my parent’s house I took what mom had left of her orzo pasta to make the dish, and threw in what I had left in my freezer – frozen shrimp and peas.. 1) It saved me a trip to the store, and 2) It was free. (Thanks, Mom!)

Here’s what I did. I’m proud to say it got the BF stamp of approval, too.

1. Bring a large pot to boil and add 2 cups of orzo. Follow directions on container.

Boil Boil

Boil Boil

2. Heat up the frozen peas and shrimp in a large skillet.

IMG_0199

Frozen shrimp and peas.

3. Once the pasta finishes cooking, drain and serve with peas and shrimp. Throw some shredded cheese on top and you’re good to go!

IMG_0206

Voila! Orzo with Grilled Shrimp and Peas.

I mean, how easy is that?! It took a total of 15 minutes and I even had leftovers.

Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. I was just watching an old MasterChef episode last night where they made orzo…made me think I should try it! This may just be my debut orzo recipe! Thanks!

    1. Woo! Like with most pastas, you can really throw anything you want in it. This was mixed with just a little bit of olive oil, but I bet marinara sauce would be great with it, too.

      1. Oh good to know! Thanks!

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

