My Favorite Reads: September Edition

It’s September’s edition of “My Favorite Reads”. I’m still in the process of reading Beneath the Marble Sky and I am loving it! It’s taken me a little while to get through it only because I haven’t had much time to read lately, not because it is bad. I’ll most likely suggest this book in a later edition. I’m waiting until I finish to give my final opinion. Sometimes books are great up until the end when you suddenly feel like the author pulled that ending out of left field. Kind of like a really scary movie the ends with finding out that the scary being was actually a little flying fuzzy Purple People Eater and not a creepy ghost.

Suggestions for this month:

  1. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand. This book was fabulous. Just fabulous. Straying from my typical historical fiction, I picked up this read after it was highly suggested by a family friend of mine. This is a book based on the true story of a World War II pilot who crashed in the Pacific Ocean. Thought to be dead, he is actually rescued by the Japanese  only to be quickly made into a POW. His story is truly sad, sometimes tough to read, but without a doubt remarkable. It’s amazing to think that circumstances and situations like his actually happened. It’s even more amazing to learn that these men actually survived them.
  2. The Birth of Venus by Sarah Dunant. I believe that I love reading historical fiction books because of this one right here. This was the very first novel that I read where I felt such a strong connection to the characters. After reading this, I realized that, for me, good books are determined by how well the character comes alive throughout the pages. This novel is about a girl whose wealthy family hires a painter to paint their palazzo’s chapel. Alessandra, the girl, is soon entranced by the abilities of the hired painter. As her love for him grows, her parents have a different path they wish their daughter to take. One that will take her on a ride through religious upheaval, a tumultuous love-life and a journey to find herself.
  3. The Kommandant’s Girl by Pam Jenoff. Although men fought the war on the battlefields, during WWII women played an important role that lead to a final Allied victory. Follow 19-year-old Jewish Emma as she takes on one of the toughest missions of all, seducing a German Kommandant.

For more book suggestions check out My Favorite Reads: June, July & August.

7 comments

  1. […] more book suggestions visit my other posts. My Favorite Reads: June, July, August, September, October & […]

  2. […] Diplomat’s Wife by Pam Jenoff. Back in September I recommended a book called The Kommandant’s Girl. Well The Diplomat’s Wife comes from the same author meaning there are a lot of twists and […]

  3. […] more book suggestions visit My Favorite Reads: June, July, August & September […]

  4. Louise DeKan · · Reply

    Don’t know how to comment on your Blog but I read every word and love it.

    ________________________________

    1. You just did! Thank you 🙂

  5. HI Samantha: I too loved Birth of Venus. Wonderful book and as you say, great characterization. Our book club also did Unbroken. I love hearing about what you’ve been reading.

    1. Thanks, Joyce. Theodora of Constantinople is next after I finish Beneath the Marble Sky. If you have any other book suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

Don't be a stranger. I want to hear what you have to say!

